How long do I have to file a personal injury claim in New York?
If you have been injured as a result of the negligence or reckless action of another party, you will have 3 years to file your personal injury claim in New York. If you fail to file your claim within this period, you may no longer be able to recover damages. There are some exceptions to the statute of limitations on personal injury cases. For example, if the victim is below the age of 18, the statute of limitations will begin on their 18th birthday. If you are filing a claim against a government agency, you will have an even shorter period (90 days) within which to file your claim.
It is advisable to consult with a personal injury attorney as soon as possible after your accident. Your attorney can get the process started early and ensure that you’re not locked out of seeking compensation for your injuries.